Congratulations to CAREER Grant Awardees; TMS Members Recognized for Professional Contributions

JOM, Jul 2017

A PDF file should load here. If you do not see its contents the file may be temporarily unavailable at the journal website or you do not have a PDF plug-in installed and enabled in your browser.

Alternatively, you can download the file locally and open with any standalone PDF reader:

Congratulations to CAREER Grant Awardees; TMS Members Recognized for Professional Contributions

JOM Congratulations to CAREER Grant Awardees; TMS Members Recognized for Professional Contributions Magazine Editor 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Allison Beese 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 For Early Career TMS Members 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Iryna Zenyuk 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 0 Framework for Additive Manufacturing of Metals.” 1 Bo Li, Case Western Reserve University. Project: “A Predictive Modeling 2 Allison Beese, Pennsylvania State University. Project: “Investigating the Micromechanics of Fracture in Additively Manufactured Metals.” , USA 3 Iryna Zenyuk, Tufts University. Project:“Mechanisms of Ion Transport in Ionomer-Free Electrodes.” 4 Siva Nadimpalli, New Jersey Institute of Technology. Project: “Electro-Chemo-Mechanics of Polymer/Active Material Interface Fracture.” , USA 5 Marko Knezevic, University of New Hampshire. Project: “An Experimentally-Informed Multi-Level Framework for Modeling Fracture of Hexagonal Metals.” , USA 6 Deformation in Layered Composites through Modeling and Experiment.” 7 Caizhi Zhou, Missouri University of Science and Technology. Project: “Understanding Interface-Mediated , USA Caizhi Zhou TMS extends congratulations to six young professional members who have received grants from the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Engineering Directorate through the Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) program. The CAREER program provides support to promising junior engineering faculty, allowing them to pursue impactful research while also serving as committed educators. The members being recognized with CAREER grants are: Marko Knezevic Siva Nadimpalli - JO Bo Li TMS offers a number of resources specifically designed to meet the needs of young professional members. These include leadership development programs and opportunities to connect with mentors and gain professional exposure. Visit to learn more. MPIF Recognizes TMS Members David L. Bourell, Temple Foundation Professor, The University of Texas at Austin, was honored with the 2017 Albert M. Sargent Progress Award by the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) at the SME International Awards cited for “his fundamental and applied research on additive manufacturing materials, their subsequent industrial use and the publications that share the The Metal Powder Industry Federation (MPIF) awarded its Distinguished Service to Powder Metallurgy Award to Iver E. Anderson and Diran Apelian on June 14. Iver E. Anderson, senior metallurgist, Ames Laboratory, is a 2015 TMS Fellow. He counts the 2014 Application to Practice Award and the Alexander Scott Distinguished Service Award among his many other TMS recognitions. He was also inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame in 2017. Diran Apelian is the Alcoa-Howmet Professor of Engineering and founding director of the Metal Processing Institute at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. A 2006 TMS Fellow, Apelian served as the 2008 TMS President. He has received numerous Pradeep Rohatgi Honored by AFS Pradeep Rohatgi, Professor, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, from the American Foundry Society (AFS) in May. He was recognized for associated knowledge.” The Sargent Award is one of six International Honor Awards that SME confers annually to manufacturing. A 2011 TMS Fellow, Bourell is also the inaugural chair of the TMS Additive Manufacturing Committee and received the 2009 TMS Materials Processing and Manufacturing Division Distinguished Scientist/ Engineer Award. awards and honors, including the 1992 AIME Champion H. Mathewson Award, the 2004 TMS/ASM Joint Distinguished Lectureship in Materials and Society Award, the 2006 Bruce Chalmers Award. The MPIF Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals who have actively served the North American powder metallurgy industry with distinction for at least 25 years. to the metalcasting industry in research presentations at AFS events, and the education of casting engineers.” A TMS member since 1963, Rohatgi is a 2012 TMS Fellow and recipient of the 2014 Bruce Chalmers Award. Congratulations to CAREER Grant Awardees; TMS Members Recognized for Professional Contributions David Bourell Named SME Award Recipient Paul Ohodnicki Receives Carnegie Science Award Paul Ohodnicki, Federal Project Manager, National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL), received the Advanced Manufacturing and Materials Award conferred by the Carnegie Science Center as part of its Carnegie Science Awards program to recognize and promote outstanding science and technology achievements in western Pennsylvania. He and NETL’s Materials Science and Functional Materials Team were a cutting-edge sensor technology capable of measuring temperature and gas composition inside solid oxide fuel cell systems, holding promise for commercialization and job growth. Ohodnicki is a 2010 recipient TMS Functional Materials Division Young Leaders Professional Development Award. Iver E. Anderson Diran Apelian David L. Bourell Pradeep Rohatgi

This is a preview of a remote PDF:

Congratulations to CAREER Grant Awardees; TMS Members Recognized for Professional Contributions, JOM, 2017, 1246-1247, DOI: 10.1007/s11837-017-2443-2